tessura

State license required

How to become a security guard in Arkansas

Arkansas State Police credentials private security officers (PSOs) employed by licensed guard companies: 18+, 8 hours of Phase I training and a 70-question exam passed at 70%. The company files within 14 days of hire, and until the credential is processed the officer may work only under line-of-sight supervision of a credential holder. Credentials last 2 years and cost $75 with background checks ($78 from October 1, 2026).

AR

Reviewed September 27, 2026
Regulator: Arkansas State Police, Regulatory Services Division

The path

  1. 8hTraining before you start
  2. ExamState exam
  3. ApplyPrivate Security Officer (PSO) Credential$40 credential + $22 state and $13 federal background check fees = $75 (the $10 FBI portion rises to $13 on October 1, 2026, for $78); check or money order only. Renewal $40 plus new background checks. Transfer to a new employer $20. The initial $40 is waived for applicants on Medicaid, SNAP, WIC, TANF or Lifeline, approved for unemployment in the last 12 months, or at or below 200% of the federal poverty guidelines.
  4. WorkCarry the credential on post
  5. 2yRenewal cycle6h continuing education

Every Arkansas credential

All 17 individual credentials this regulator issues to security workers, from the entry-level card to specialty and instructor registrations. Rows marked ◇ are drafted from the regulator’s pages and await our reviewer’s sign-off.

CredentialTrainingExamRenewal
Unarmed guard
Private Security Officer (PSO) Credential
$40 credential + $22 state and $13 federal background check fees = $75 (the $10 FBI portion rises to $13 on October 1, 2026, for $78); check or money order only. Renewal $40 plus new background checks. Transfer to a new employer $20. The initial $40 is waived for applicants on Medicaid, SNAP, WIC, TANF or Lifeline, approved for unemployment in the last 12 months, or at or below 200% of the federal poverty guidelines.
8 hoursYesEvery 2 years
6 hrs CE every 2 years
Armed guard
Commissioned Security Officer (CSO)
$40 commission + $22 state and $13 federal background check fees = $75 ($78 from October 1, 2026); training course fees are separate.
24 hoursYesEvery 2 years
12 hrs CE every year
Armed guard
Commissioned School Security Officer (CSSO)
$40 commission + $22 state and $13 federal background check fees = $75 ($78 from October 1, 2026)
60 hoursYesEvery 2 years
24 hrs CE every year
Alarm / SOC monitoring ◇
Alarm Systems Monitor Credential
$40.00 application; $22.00 state background check; $14.25 federal background check (biennially)
VariesNo,
Alarm technician ◇
Alarm Systems Technician Credential
$40.00 application; $22.00 state background check; $14.25 federal background check (biennially)
VariesYes,
Alarm technician ◇
Alarm Systems Agent Credential
$40.00 application; $22.00 state background check; $14.25 federal background check (biennially)
VariesNo,
Alarm technician ◇
Alarm Systems Apprentice Credential
$40.00 application; $22.00 state background check; $14.25 federal background check
VariesNo,
Private investigator ◇
Credentialed Private Investigator (CPI)
$450.00 application; $150.00 application renewal; $22.00 state background check; $14.25 federal background check (as listed in the 2024 ASP occupational licensing report – verify)
VariesYes,
Instructor ◇
Training Instructor (TI) Credential
$50.00 written exam (listed as triennial); $22.00 state background check; $14.25 federal background check
VariesYes,
Instructor ◇
Training Administrator / Assistant Training Administrator (TA/ATA)
VariesNo,
Manager ◇
Class A Private Investigator Agency Manager
$50.00 written exam/re-exam (biennially); $22.00 state background check; $14.25 federal background check (biennially)
210 hoursYesEvery 2 years
Manager ◇
Class B Security Services Contractor Manager
$50.00 written exam/re-exam (biennially); $22.00 state background check; $14.25 federal background check (biennially)
VariesYesEvery 2 years
Manager ◇
Class C Combined Security Contractor / Private Investigator Manager
$50.00 written re-exam (listed quinquennially); $22.00 state background check; $14.25 federal background check (biennially)
VariesYes,
Manager ◇
Class E Alarm Systems Company Manager
$50.00 written re-exam (listed quinquennially); $22.00 state background check; $14.25 federal background check (biennially)
VariesYes,
Manager ◇
Class E-M Alarm Systems Monitoring Company Manager
$22.00 state background check; $14.25 federal background check (biennially)
VariesNo,
Manager ◇
Class E-S Single Station Alarm Company Manager
$50.00 written re-exam (listed quinquennially); $22.00 state background check; $14.25 federal background check (biennially)
VariesYes,
Manager ◇
Class G Security Contractor / Investigator / Alarm Systems Manager
$50.00 written re-exam (listed quinquennially); $22.00 state background check; $14.25 federal background check (biennially)
VariesYes,

Steps to get started

  1. Get hired by a licensed Arkansas guard company; it must file your application with the State Police within 14 days of hire.
  2. Complete 8 hours of Phase I training and pass the 70-question exam (70%) given by the company's training administrator.
  3. Submit the notarized application with two passport-style photos, two fingerprint cards and $75 by check or money order ($78 and the 10-2026 form from October 1, 2026).
  4. Until the credential is processed, work only under a credential holder's line-of-sight supervision; armed work waits for the commission card.
  5. Renew within the 90 days before your 2-year expiration, with 6 hours of refresher training (12 a year if armed).

Private Security Officer (PSO) Credential: Phase I (17 CAR 350-1004) covers legal authority, arrest and detention, use of force, the licensing act and report writing; the exam (17 CAR 350-1017) has at least 70 questions, taken in person, 70% to pass, a 5-working-day wait to retake, and two failures cancel the application. The company must file within 14 days of hire (A.C.A. 17-40-325); until the application is processed the officer may work only under the supervision of a credential holder watching in line of sight at all times, and must stop if the background check turns up a possible disqualifier (17 CAR 350-214). Application: notarized, two passport-style photos, two fingerprint cards. Disqualifying: an unpardoned felony or listed Class A misdemeanor, even if sealed or expunged; misdemeanors 10 or more years old do not bar (17-40-306(d)). Unarmed guards employed directly by one business for its own affairs are exempt (17-40-103(a)(1)); current certified law enforcement officers are exempt from the training (17 CAR 350-1007). The credential lasts 2 years from issue and stays valid with a new employer (17-40-329(b)). Renewal: 6 hours of training within the 12 months before renewal (350-1010, -1011), filed no more than 90 days early; no renewal once expired 6 months (17-40-313(d)). Cards are emailed since August 5, 2025 and must be worn in plain sight on duty (350-506). No arrest powers beyond a private citizen's except for shoplifting (350-1022).

Alarm Systems Monitor Credential: Credential for an individual employed by an alarm systems company who monitors or responds to alarm signals/cameras (A.C.A. §17-40-101). Rule 9.3: alarm systems monitors are not required to complete any courses or examinations.

Alarm Systems Technician Credential: Individual employed by an alarm systems company who installs, services or repairs alarm/camera systems on site. Rule 9.5 requires an examination on A.C.A. §17-40-101 et seq. and the Rules; industry certification (NICET Level II, ESA Level I, NESA Level I or Elite CEU Level I) is referenced as the qualification path (Rule 9.4/9.6). Training hours not stated.

Alarm Systems Agent Credential: Individual employed by an alarm systems company who sells on site, surveys premises to be protected, or responds to alarm signal devices (A.C.A. §17-40-101).

Alarm Systems Apprentice Credential: Entry-level installer working under direct supervision of an alarm systems technician/agent. Rule 9.6: may work up to six months before the company must file proof of NICET Level II / ESA Level I / NESA Level I / Elite CEU Level I certification, after which the individual must stop working as an apprentice.

Credentialed Private Investigator (CPI): Individual PI credential under the same act (A.C.A. §17-40) administered by ASP Regulatory Services. Must work under the supervision of a qualified manager of a Class A company and pass an ASP-administered examination (Rule 11.0). Applicants with 5 consecutive years of law-enforcement experience are exempt from the exam (Rule 11.4(f)).

Training Instructor (TI) Credential: Person employed by a licensed company or approved Institution of Instruction who assists the Training Administrator in training security personnel. Must be credentialed through a specific company and approved by ASP before instructing; fingerprints required (Rules 8.1, 8.4). Firearms portions for CSO/CSSO must be taught by a Firearms Training Instructor holding an ALETA/law-enforcement/NRA instructor certificate (Rule 10.7) – that qualification is external, not a separate ASP card.

Training Administrator / Assistant Training Administrator (TA/ATA): Every approved Institution of Instruction must register a Training Administrator (and may register ATAs). The TA/ATA signs student applications attesting training was completed, administers the PSO/CSO/CSSO exams, and submits annual refresher forms (Rules 8.1, 8.3, 10.14, 10.16).

Class A Private Investigator Agency Manager: Named officer/partner who meets the experience qualifications to manage a Class A investigations company and must personally pass the exam (Rule 11.3). Applicants lacking the manager experience in A.C.A. §17-40-306 must complete the 210-hour PI course of instruction in Rule 11.1. Agency license is $600 initial / $300 biennial and is not an individual credential.

Class B Security Services Contractor Manager: Named officer/partner meeting experience qualifications to manage a Class B security services contractor; manager and any branch manager must take the exam in person (Rule 10.16(b)).

Class C Combined Security Contractor / Private Investigator Manager: Manager of a Class C company licensed for both contract security and private investigation. Report lists the re-exam fee as every five years; renewal cycle of the manager credential itself not stated.

Class E Alarm Systems Company Manager: Manager of a Class E (restricted or unrestricted) alarm systems installation company; must meet the qualifications in Rules 9.0/9.1 and pass the Rule 9.5 exam.

Class E-M Alarm Systems Monitoring Company Manager: Manager of a monitoring-only alarm company. Rule 9.3: managers of alarm system monitoring companies are not required to complete courses or exams but must sign an affidavit that they have read A.C.A. §17-40-101 et seq. and the Rules.

Class E-S Single Station Alarm Company Manager: Manager of a Class E-S single-station alarm company (agency license $600 initial / $300 biennial).

Class G Security Contractor / Investigator / Alarm Systems Manager: Manager of a Class G company licensed for security contracting, investigations and alarm systems (agency license $1,200 initial / $600 biennial).

Working armed in Arkansas

Armed officers need a Commissioned Security Officer (CSO) commission: 21+, 8 hours of Phase I plus 16 hours of Phase II (8 in the classroom, 8 on the range), a 100-question exam, and 12 hours of refresher training with a range qualification every year. No armed work until the commission card is issued, and the firearm is carried only on the assigned site during assigned duties.

Commissioned Security Officer (CSO): 21+ (A.C.A. 17-40-337). Phase I (8 hours) plus Phase II (16 hours: at least 8 in the classroom and 8 on the range, with a pistol qualification mirroring the state law enforcement course, and a rifle or shotgun qualification if the post requires one), taught on the firearms side by a certified firearms training instructor, then a 100-question exam at 70% (17 CAR 350-1005, -1008, -1017). Also barred: any crime involving a firearm or alcohol while possessing a firearm, anyone who cannot lawfully possess a firearm, and a pardon counts only if it restores firearm rights (17-40-337, 350-210). No armed work until the application is fully processed and the card issued (350-214(b)(4)). Carry only on the assigned site while performing assigned duties (350-1019). Every year: at least 12 hours of refresher training including an ALETA range qualification and a safety course, or the commission is suspended (350-1014); the 12-hour renewal training every 2 years can count toward it (350-1010, -1012). A firearm discharge is reported to the employer within 12 hours and to the State Police within 48 (350-1020).

Commissioned School Security Officer (CSSO): Armed security officer authorized to carry a firearm while providing security for a school (A.C.A. 17-40-102(10)); 21+ with the same bars as a CSO (17-40-337). Phase I (8 hours) + Phase II (16 hours: 8 classroom, 8 range) + Phase III (36 hours: at least 16 of ALERRT active shooter training, at least 10 of active shooter simulations and live fire, trauma care with CPR taught in the course, defensive tactics and weapon retention), then a 120-question exam at 70% (17 CAR 350-1003 to -1006, -1017). Every year: 24 hours of refresher training (12 of range qualification and practice, 4 of ALERRT refresher, 8 of simulated live fire) (350-1014(d)); 24 hours of renewal training every 2 years (350-1013). The school or private business employing CSSOs must be recognized by the State Police (17-40-103(b)).

What guards earn in Arkansas

A median of $17.20 an hour across 6,390 security guards, from official BLS wage data.

Security guard pay in Arkansas →

Hiring a guard rather than becoming one?

The same rules read from the other side: what to ask a guard and a security company for in Arkansas, and the steps to confirm it in the regulator's own records.

How to check a licence in Arkansas →

Sources

tessura is an independent study and career tool, not affiliated with any state agency. Rules change; always confirm current requirements with the regulator before relying on them.

Keep your Arkansas credential alive

The free wallet computes your renewal deadline from Arkansas's rules and reminds you at 60, 30, and 7 days. Exam prep for Arkansas follows.

Join free